jump to navigation

Giving lectures on tv February 5, 2010

Posted by Malene Charlotte Larsen in Academic, Lectures, Television.
trackback

The Danish Broadcasting Corporation (DR) recently launched a new initiative involving several Danish universities called “The Danes’ Academy” (“Danskernes Akademi”). The project involves broadcasting short university lectures on daytime TV on the national channel DR2.

DR is inspired by for instance BBC’s The Open University or Ted.com and has created a website where all lectures can be viewed and discussed.

I have been involved in filming two 20-25 minutes lectures which were broadcast a couple of days ago. In both of the lectures I talk about social network sites and my own research on youth and new media. In the first lecture I focus mainly on defining SNS and in the second I highlight central concepts and research results explaining the popularity of the phenomenon. Both lectures can be viewed here (they are in Danish, though).

I like the idea of communicating research results in this manner (it’s nice with more than 20 seconds of airtime) and I plan to record more talks when I have handed in the dissertation.

Comments»

1. James Mcnaulty @onlinephduk.com - May 10, 2010

Thanks for the information. Must say that that most of the academics in the UK are new to this type of delivery. Getting air space on a program as the open university telecast is a very expensive and a competitive task.

What would you say was the most important aspects and the benefits of delivery via video compared to traditional media ?

2. BeINSTORE - May 10, 2010

I’ve recently started a blog, the information you provide on this site has helped me tremendously. Thank you for all of your time & work. 12:29

3. BeINSTORE~ - May 25, 2010

Hi,
I have visited your website today and it
was a wonderful experience !
The wonderful presentation of your
website have become my point of
attraction. I think it would be a
mutually beneficial decision for both of
us to exchange some links or articles. It
can help both of us to increase the
number of visitors to our sites and a top
ranking in google search.
Waiting for your positive reply.
Thanks & Regards,
Elmoon 16:27

4. Danskernes Akademi « Mikalas Klumme - May 26, 2010

[…] May 26, 2010 Jeg faldt lige over et interessant indlæg fra Malene Charlotte Larsen’s ph.d.-blog om DR’s lancering af Danskernes Akademi.  Her kan du blandt andet nu finde to […]

5. feboo - May 27, 2010

after a long reading of your posts here, I just wanna saluting you with two thumbs up!! 12:00

6. BeINSTORE~ - May 31, 2010

You are brilliant and as abstract as one can be acceptable in this timely topic.

Thank you for the resources. 19:26

7. BeINSTORE~ - August 18, 2010

Thanks for taking the time on this, I was looking all over for something similar, but this is just as helpful. 06:51

8. hawk directory - April 6, 2011

thanks for sharing nice informations


Leave a comment