jump to navigation

AoIR: Facebook is the new business card October 24, 2007

Posted by Malene Charlotte Larsen in Academic, Conferences, Facebook.
trackback

I am now home in Denmark after two lovely weeks with conferences in Canada. The latest in Vancouver was Association of Internet Researchers‘ annual conference entitled Internet Research 8.0: Let’s Play (which by the way will be held in Denmark next year at the IT University of Copenhagen – hooray). I really enjoyed the conference which was right up my alley with many of the sessions focusing on social networking. Especially, Facebook was a hot topic this year and many American researchers presented their work on Facebook’s entry among their students.

What is interesting (in a sort of meta way) is that Facebook now functions as academics’ business card. Instead of handing out our business cards when networking between sessions we would more often friend each other on Facebook. This, I find, has many advantages. I don’t have to keep track with a bunch of physical cards, all my contacts are stored in the same place, the site remembers them for me and the profile pictures make it easier to remember who is who.

By the way, it is interesting to see how Facebook is exploding in Denmark at the moment. As fellow researcher Lisbeth Klastrup has pointed out in a recent blog post more than 1500 Danes a day currently join Facebook.

Comments»

1. La tiranía de facebook « Tesis-Antítesis - October 29, 2007

[…] lo que iba, que ahora resulta que tengo que tener Facebook, ¿que por qué? Porque si no, no tengo tarjeta de presentación ante montón de personas. Yo me resisto porque de verdad tengo que hacer una tesis y la gestión de […]

2. Personal Goals - December 1, 2021

Personal Goals

AoIR: Facebook is the new business card | My PhD Blog

3. successful Counseling - December 27, 2021

successful Counseling

AoIR: Facebook is the new business card | My PhD Blog


Leave a comment