jump to navigation

My PhD Blog featured in woman’s magazine July 15, 2009

Posted by Malene Charlotte Larsen in Blogging, Media coverage.
trackback

More than 1.5 year ago I gave an interview to a Danish woman’s magazine called Femina about keeping a research blog. Last week the interview was finally published as part of a special theme on blogging. It’s a really small piece (and the article was even shortened in the end), but it can be read from the journalist’s own website here (in Danish – page 6).

I think keeping a research blog is an interesting methodological approach. In my dissertation I have written a small section about research blogging and how it affects my research and empirical data. When I have more time I will  write a post about that. I the meantime, I can recommend this paper  from 2002 by Jill Walker and Torill Mortensen: “Blogging thoughts: personal publication as an online research tool“.

Comments»

1. annmucc - July 15, 2009

Hi Malene
Came across your blog. I am also doing my PhD, and have started to keep a research blog (but unlike you I am not studying social media, so not quite sure what to make of it ;)). I tried to access the paper, but it doesn’t seem to be working…would be interested to read it!

Malene Charlotte Larsen - July 16, 2009

Hi annmucc,

I’m sorry – it seems that the link is not working any more, even though this is where I originally found it (maybe it’s just down for the moment?).
The paper is from “Researching ICTs in Context”, ed. Andrew Morrison, InterMedia Report, 3/2002, Oslo 2002. From Jill Walkers website I can see that she refers to http://www.gnist.no.

Good luck with your research blog🙂

2. laura - July 18, 2009

Hi Malene, I am doing my graduate study and my focus in also on SNSs. I was reading a paper about SNSs and came across your 35 perspectives. So impressive. Then I found your blog here. Nice to meet you.🙂

Laura

3. Bruno - July 20, 2009

Impressive blog. I’m doing a PhD in Maths and I feel it would be difficult for me to input all the equations … I prefer my pen and logbook😀

4. Daniel - July 27, 2009

Dear Madam,
to whom it may concerns,
this mail is some thing which suggests this weblog announce to make a
survey about Danish.i was only 2 times in Denmark`s discos , first
time one girl show his finger which touched her nose!!!(i do not know
what does it mean) and during dance i realized someone touched my
bottom i scared maybe thief wants to rob my wallet so i tried to keep
my wallet but when i turned i found a man with his girl friend laugh
at me,second time a Danish boy told me “go home(go hjem)”!! and when i
was in toilet(public) a guy asked me are you muslim ,and said i do not
have religion and i am atheist(he wondered).so i would like to ask
this place(because i do not have access to any tribune) to make survey and ask Danes to find out how many
racists live in Denmark,how many nationalists live in DK.they even do
not think maybe a tourist with black hair from Italy or Spain come
Denmark.
with best regards
Daniel

5. Sarah Stewart - May 19, 2011

Hello, thanks for the reference. I am currently writing about the concept of open research and open reflective practice. I’ve really enjoyed reading back over your phd journey. Did you ever get around to writing about research blogging? cheers Sarah


Leave a Reply

