jump to navigation

Time to concentrate on me :-) July 1, 2008

Posted by Malene Charlotte Larsen in Academic, PhD.
trackback

Today (1st of July) I am exactly half way through my three year PhD scholarship. That means it is time to really concentrate on me and my PhD project. It also means that I must learn the crucial gift of being able to say no.

Up until now, I feel like I have been much preoccupied with pleasing other people (e.g. students, journalists, colleagues, course participants, professionals, librarians or others who are interested in my research area) and although I like communicating my research results, giving interviews and public talks or being called on as an “expert” in different contexts, I must stop accepting all the invites to exciting activities and start being a bit more selfish in order to get my dissertation done in time.

Of course, it helps that I have now fulfilled all my teaching obligation here at the university. As a PhD student at The Department of Communication at Aalborg University I have to teach 600 hours during my three years of employment. At the end of this semester, I have fulfilled this obligation. Although I enjoy teaching and supervising students, not having to do that for the next year and a half will probably (hopefully) help me to concentrate more on my project and my interesting data.

Let the writing begin!
(And let’s hope I don’t suffer from P.Q.S.…🙂)

Comments»

1. Cathy - July 1, 2008

Had to laugh at P.Q.S. It sounded horribly familiar… Will you still make time to go to the AoIR conference in October?

2. Malene Charlotte Larsen - July 1, 2008

Hi Cathy,

Yes, I will still have time for academic stuff such as conferences and PhD courses, so I will definitely see you at AoIR. (I am actually working on my paper as we speak :-))

However, I am trying to cut down on the non-academic and not-so-relevant-for-my-dissertation-activities that I have been much engaged with the past year and a half.

3. hope scholarship - July 1, 2008

[…] also means that I must learn the crucial gift of being able to say no. Up until now, I feel like Ihttps://malenel.wordpress.com/2008/07/01/time-to-concentrate-on-me/Investing in education Meat NewsProviding employees an honest day??s pay for an honest day??s work […]

4. communication activities that can be done - July 3, 2008

[…] also means that I must learn the crucial gift of being able to say no. Up until now, I feel like Ihttps://malenel.wordpress.com/2008/07/01/time-to-concentrate-on-me/US State Dept Daily Press Briefing: July 2, 2008 Scoop.co.nzIsrael: Attacks in Jerusalem + Peace […]

5. Inez - July 15, 2008

Good luck with your dissertation! I’m in my second year, and I’m starting to shop around for theoretical frameworks – I plunged into social sciences after being trained as a bench lab scientist for a long time, so this is all new to me. Good luck and all the best to you!

6. Malene Charlotte Larsen - July 15, 2008

Hi Inez,

Thank you. I wish you the best of luck as well!

I can see we have some common theoretical interests🙂

Malene

7. frankiesayscollapse - September 29, 2008

Hi Malene! I just started a PhD on Online Communities. I stumbled across your blog and am enjoying reading about your experiences and research. My PhD blog (which I just set up) is at http://frankiephd.wordpress.com

8. Malene Charlotte Larsen - September 30, 2008

Hi Frankie – interesting! And good luck with the PhD🙂


Leave a Reply

