jump to navigation

Greetings from Vaasa! April 3, 2008

Posted by Malene Charlotte Larsen in Academic, Teaching, Travel.
trackback

center-of-vaasa.jpgI am in Finland at the moment giving a couple of guest lectures at The University of Vaasa at The Department of Communication Studies. Today I taught the “Advanced Course in Multimedia Communication” and tomorrow I will be giving a lecture on the course “Text and Discourse Analysis – Practice”.

Both the lectures deal with my research on Arto (which is actually a boy’s name in Finland🙂 ) and the theories and methods of discourse studies that I am using.

The Finnish counterpart of Arto is the social network site IRC-Galleria and it is interesting to hear how the history of that site seems to be similar to Arto – especially when it comes to the moral panic and the stories presented in the news media. Also, it seems that the Finnish youngsters are using IRC-Galleria in the same way that the Danish teenagers are using Arto – only the average age on IRC-Galleria is about 20 years old, which is a little older than the average Arto user.

By the way, Facebook is of course also really huge in Finland. All the students I taught today had Facebook profiles.

vaasa-uni2.jpg

The view from the University of Vaasa – nice, with ice on top of the water.

Comments»

1. Mal - May 15, 2008

Hey Malene,

I’ve been reading some articles on your blog here and there. I found that one by chance and the funny thing is I have studied myself a year in the University of Vaasa.
Vaasa is such a great place to live in. A wonderful little city full of very interesting people to meet. I hope you’ll enjoy your stay as much as I did back then.

-Mal from Reykjavik

2. Malene Charlotte Larsen - May 15, 2008

Hi Mal,

Ah interesting😀 I was only in Vaasa a couple of days, but I agree with you that it is a charming little city. I met some nice people as well.

Take care,
Malene

3. Mina - December 2, 2009

Moi
Amo-te Jaana,Tenho Saudades Tuas.Penso em ti todos os dias.
Vamos ser felizes juntos

Lahetta sahkopostille kaikki sun ystavat
Jaana ja Miguel Rakkaus

kiitos


Leave a Reply

