jump to navigation

The online and offline symbol of a heart March 6, 2008

Posted by Malene Charlotte Larsen in Language, Offline, Online, Youth Culture.
trackback

As some of you might know, I have started taking pictures of “offline walls” (aka graffiti). Especially, when I am out giving talks all over Denmark and have a lot of waiting time in public spaces such as train or bus stations.

As I have mentioned before, it seems that the online way of communicating has affected the offline. Symbols that most often belong to Arto profiles or Facebook walls can now be found on actual, physical walls.

Yesterday I was in Assens and had some time to kill in the local bus station waiting room. Here, I found a message saying “I love you” along with two drawings that capture both the online (<3) and the offline symbol of a heart: (the highlights and the blurring of the last name have been made by me):

hearts.jpg

I have many similar examples of online symbols or references being used in the physical public space. I find this interesting in relation to my PhD project, as it says something about how the boundaries of online and offline communication and relationships are blurred – and how the virtual space is represented IRL and vice versa.

On this specific wall I also found references to Arto profiles. It’s all about being OnLife🙂❤

Comments»

1. Uno de Waal - March 6, 2008

check out http://www.woostercollective.com for some brilliant street art.

2. Søren Mørk - March 11, 2008

If you are interested in an artist working with the same concepts in mind have a look at http://www.datenform.de/. I completly agree with you this is fascinating and Aram Bartholl’s different project are a manifestation of this.

3. Malene Charlotte Larsen - March 11, 2008

Hi Uno and Søren.

Thanks for the references. Also, check out TXTual Healing: http://www.txtualhealing.com/

Here SMS messages are used to create public performances.

4. Internet i våra offentliga rum: Playahead « Internetsociologi - August 18, 2008

[…] upptäckter diskuteras även på My PhD blog. I den beskrivna situationen används❤ istället för ett målat hjärta på en […]

5. Assumption #6: I want to tell the truth - October 22, 2008

[…] the football). I had a little look through here blog: this is probably my favourite post, on how online language is migrating offline and affecting youth communication. The other Danish blog on the top 10 is from Marie Norup. What […]

6. fahrrad - March 6, 2009

Dies ist ein groer Ort. Ich mchte hier noch einmal.

7. social media marketing world - August 12, 2014

social media marketing world

The online and offline symbol of a heart | My PhD Blog


Leave a Reply

