jump to navigation

Online social networking: From local experiences to global discourses September 11, 2008

Posted by Malene Charlotte Larsen in Academic, Conferences, Social Networking, Youth Culture.
trackback

As I am no longer on vacation, it must be time for an update from My PhD Blog.

As I wrote in my last post, I have been working on my paper for this year’s AoiR conference in Copenhagen. The paper is entitled “Online soical networking: From local experiences to global discourses”. It is based on the comprehensive national survey about Danish teenagers’ use of social network sites that I conducted together with The Media Council last year. In the paper I explore the different experiences that young people have through the use of social networking technologies. Those experiences are analysed in relation to the often one-sided public discourses surrounding the subject. Here is an extract from the abstract:

Often, young people do not have a voice in the public debate on internet safety and online social networking, but – as the paper will demonstrate – that does not mean that they do not have an opinion. By examining the responses of 2400 Danish young people to an online open-ended questionnaire dealing with their experiences on social network sites, I demonstrate how young people relate not only to a local context, but also a broader societal level when addressing the issues of online behaviour. In the paper I analyse how young Danes between the age of 12 and 18 – through their statements and responses in the survey – construct themselves as users of social network sites both in relation to very concrete and local online experiences from their everyday life and in relation to a more intangible global level of mediated discourses. Subsequently, I analyse how they construct themselves as ‘responsible young people’ by distancing themselves from the public and “grown up” discourse represented by e.g. their parents, teachers or the media.

I look forward to presenting my ideas about the “local experiences” and “global discourses”, which are based on Ron Scollon’s framework of Geographies of Discourse. Also, I look forward to the AoiR conference in general. The programme looks really interesting.

My paper can be downloaded here.

Comments»

1. britta bohlinger - September 12, 2008

Hi Malene, thx for the update. Have been following your blog & think it’s excellent. Will be @ AoIR in Oct in DK too & look forward to hearing more. Keep up the good work. Best, Britta

http://britbohlinger.blogspot.com

@ twitter @ facebook

2. Malene Charlotte Larsen - September 12, 2008

Hi Britta,

Thank you for the comment. It is always nice to know that there are readers out there :-) And hopefully, I will see you at AoIR.

Your blog looks really interesting, by the way…

Best,
Malene

3. Burak - September 16, 2008

In my opinion, there are some important facts about social networking.
They keep collecting information in every detail they can.Privacy is beeing harrassed and damaged, and in the near future people can face with really serious problems… (not just simple spams, more serious than that)

Check out this article what I mean is really clear :

http://www.buraak.com/2008/09/16/is-your-information-safe-with-social-networks/

4. Ryberg’s blog » Blog Archive » Paper and Panel for AoIR-conference - September 17, 2008

[...] Malene Charlotte Larsen, Aalborg University: “Online Social Networking: From Local Experiences to Global Discourses” (Malene’s post on the paper») [...]

5. At the intersection « My PhD Blog - September 18, 2008

[...] the intersection September 18, 2008 Posted by Malene Charlotte Larsen in 1. trackback In my last post I failed to mention that my AoIR paper presentation is part of an interesting panel called [...]


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 30 other followers

